Deep in love

How do we love an invisible God?

Aderonke Awonusi
4 min readAug 2, 2021

I listened recently to a Christian song titled "Deep in love with you" by Michael W Smith. The song was a deep expression of his love to Jesus Christ. While I listened attentively to the wordings of this song, I struggled to really comprehend how I could show love to a God that is so mighty and supreme, a God I cannot see. It was easy for me to understand God’s love towards me, however I challenged how possible it will be, to express back such love.

Photo by Jonathan Borba from Pexels

Then I recalled the scriptures in John 15:12–13

“My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one other than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends”

I understood from this scripture that there is a strong correlation between the way we express love to others, and the way we express love to God. If I can fall deeply in love with someone I can see, then similar feeling(s) is expected in falling deeply in love with God. With this understanding, my mind went straight to my relationship with my husband whom I have been married to for over 10 years. I particularly remembered our dating days, and my eyes immediately lightened up, as a smile dropped at the corner of my cheeks. It was now easy to relate to being deeply in love.

  • Quality time

I recall my husband will visit me at home almost every night after work, despite the distances in the locations. He will then have to journey back to his house which wasn't close to my house either. Despite all the inconveniences, he did the visits with all pleasure. We will spend many hours talking about everything. It dint matter how tired we were after work hours, we were always attentive to each other. I cant really remember what we used to talk about, but we were just sometimes content gazing into each other eyes and not necessarily say much. We just wanted to be with each other. Our conversations will often continue while he drives home and even into the night after he gets home.

On weekends, we will even spend double the time we spent together on weekdays.-

  • Unashamed of each other

I recall that my husband and I were always excited to introduce each other to friends, family members or whoever cared to know. We will practically follow each other almost everywhere. We went together to parties, weddings, family function, meetings, church etc, and before anyone even asked, we will be upfront with the introduction of each other. Most of our friends whom have not met my fiancé in person, already had an idea of who he was. Based on my appraisal, positive impressions were already formed before they even met him in person.

  • We gave..

I recall how I will save from my little income just to get my fiancé his choice gift. This was same for him as well. Our main focus here, was the great passion to give each other quality gift despite having little.

We were concerned about pleasing each other
We did what pleased each other. Even if it did not please others. Our goal was to make each other happy as much as we could.

  • Together… Forever

For both of us, we were clear in our minds, as well as on time that we wanted to marry each other for life. It was easy to forsake all others as we gave our all into the relationship. Our conversations were “long termed” and “focused”. We were not lukewarm with each other. Our dating period was consistent for three and half great years . Everyone knew our goal!

While I listen to the song again, I understand that in falling deeply in love with God, I will also need to leverage on my past experience of a similar feeling. Only this time, the outcome is far more rewarding. I have learnt that in falling deeply with God , I will need to;

  • Spend quality time with him, even on days when I don't have much to say to him, his presence would still be refreshing.
  • Give him the best of my gifts, talents & resources, bearing in mind that quality is much important in giving my gifts to God.
  • Be unashamed to speak about him and his works in my life to anyone at all.
  • My goal will be to win others over to Jesus through my appraisal and testimony of our relationship.
  • Focus on pleasing him than anyone else.
  • And also commit a lifetime to him, no matter what comes my way.

Is falling deeply in love with God impossible ? Absolutely No!

‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of Mine, you did for Me. Matt 25:40

If we can fall deeply in love with the people we can see, then we can definitely fall deeply in love with a God that we cannot see, as the criteria is SIMILAR.

--

--

Aderonke Awonusi

Godlover, Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ. HR Pro & Writer. I am passionate about sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ through Storytelling..