God Sure Has Substitutes

A painful lesson I learnt

Aderonke Awonusi
2 min readJan 1, 2023
Photo by Karolina Grabowska

At the start of the COVID, I was involved with a support group aimed to feed some less privileged people in the nearby community.

As one of the leaders in this group, we aligned to give from our pockets towards the project. I felt the Holy Spirit nudging me to give a specific amount. However, I considered the amount too high and made an excuse that it will just be fair for others in the group to give as well. So, I gave less than I heard. A few days later, I got a call from one of the leaders who wanted to confirm from me about a contribution they received from a member of my cell who was also my close mentee.

According to them, the amount she gave was quite huge compared to her standard of living. This must be a mistake, they assumed. Moreover, we all knew she recently started working. When I heard the amount the lady gave, it turned out to be exactly what I heard in my spirit to give initially. Apparently, she must have given her all.

I understood at that instance what has just happened. Someone else was raised to do the same thing I should have done, but disobeyed.

God does have substitutes, even better ones, and he can decide to use anyone who is willing.

Therefore, it is always a privilege to be invited to be part of God’s project.

Prayer: Dear Lord, I do not want to be substituted either by my partial or total disobedience. I want to always give ALL of me, and I want ALL of you. Amen!

Scriptures: Samuel said to him, “The Lord has torn the kingdom of Israel from you today and has given it to one of your neighbours — to one better than you. ( 1st Samuel 15:28, NIV)

--

--

Aderonke Awonusi

Godlover, Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ. HR Pro & Writer. I am passionate about sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ through Storytelling..