The Shelter from the Rain

Aderonke Awonusi
2 min readApr 26, 2021

--

The sure assurance of safety

It’s been raining for a couple of days now, and I thought recently on some of my experiences in the past when I was not mobile and the rain starts to fall in the middle of my journey ( either going to work or somewhere important). A few feelings I remember:

A feeling of frustration, anger and disappointment . Everywhere is just messy! Very annoying when cars drive past not stopping to pick , rather even splash dirty water on you.

A feeling of loneliness: It is on those days one feels neglected and most likely one may feel one is suffering more, despite seeing all the crowd at the bus stop with similar situation.

A feeling of vulnerability and fear, as one feels exposed to danger, falls, accident, flood etc.

Shame: This happens especially when one is all dressed up, looking good! The expensive wig gets wet, clothes gets glued to ones body, the heels of the lovely shoes may give way, and if one is unlucky to be wearing a clothing that runs, then one can be sure of colourful water pond around where one is standing .

Lack of speed: While waiting for the rains to stop, one might need to "take cover" under a shed , and when movement finally starts , it's slow because of traffic jam.

Going beyond the natural rain, life itself can throw at us its rains and all the corresponding feelings. Either it’s the devastating report from the doctor or the loss of a loved one. Sometimes it could be an unfair dismissal at work or some form of heartbreak. The list could go on..

Whatever life throws at us, we assured that God has us covered under his wings, only if we decide to make him our shelter and hiding place.

Psalm 91:1 (Amp version)- He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High Will remain secure and rest in the shadow of the Almighty whose power no enemy can withstand. I will say of the Lord , “He is my refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust with great confidence, and on whom I rely!”

Prayer:

Dear lord, thank you that I have you as my shelther and refuge. Irrespective of what the rains of life may bring, I hide under your shadow, for that is where I have maximum safety.

--

--

Aderonke Awonusi

Godlover, Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ. HR Pro & Writer. I am passionate about sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ through Storytelling..